Last Post of 2010 and Round-up of Posts I found Interesting

This is my last post for 2010. It’s been an interesting year and decade. I haven’t been as prolific or as consistent as i would have liked on this blog but i’m still here and that’s something. Tomorrow is another day to start again. Here’s wishing everyone a happy new year and a wonderful 2011!  

As we approached the end of the year, I cast my mind back on the topics that have been most significant to me and I decided to highlight again the issues of respect, hierarchy, oppression and abuse of position as they intersect in our culture.

I’ve come across some really good posts by a few bloggers coming from different perspectives on these issues. I am linking them all in one post for anyone that may be interested in taking a look.  This is one aspect of Nigerian culture that I would love to see changed even if it means losing the respectful nature that Nigerians are so proud of. 

I like that people are discussing these topics and I hope more people join in both online and offline because honest dialogue is the only way we can effectively confront these issues. I hope people have the courage to speak up in their own lives against oppressive behaviours directed at them or at others who may not be in a position to speak for themselves.  I believe that if we are able to confront the mentality that produces this kind of behaviour, we can better encourage  the  progressive thinking needed to carry us forward in the 21st century.

Please feel free to point me in the direction of  your work if you’ve also written on one of these topics and I’ve missed it out here.

Links:

Favoured Girl : http://favouredgirl.blogspot.com/2010/04/social-issues-domestic-staff.html

Naijablog: http://www.naijablog.co.uk/2010/10/master-and-slave_04.html

Chxta’s World: http://chxta.blogspot.com/( Animal Farm and Shellacking the Opposition)

Cyber Diva: http://thecyberdivas.blogspot.com/2010/11/thirst-for-oppression-and-hierarchy_04.html

Mine: https://culturesoup.wordpress.com/2010/07/27/how-nigerians-foster-a-culture-of-intimidation-and-cowardice-aka-when-respect-is-used-as-a-tool-of-oppression/

Leave a Reply

