The Shopping Trip That Wasn’t Meant To Be

Nursing a sore jaw thanks to an hour spent in the dentist’s chair, I thought  a quick shopping spree  would be a good distraction. I told myself that it would also count as a good deed because I was volunteering to test things on behalf of the relative my mum was planning to buy for. However it didn’t start out well.

I saw some eye-catching clothes in the first shop I visited but they didn’t look as good when I tried them on and I had trouble with a sticky zip on a pair of shorts. That should have been my warning not to continue but I was determined to go home with something and off I went to the next shop. And the next. Five shops later, I still hadn’t found anything I liked so I decided to try just one more shop and then head home. None of the items I tried on were satisfactory but instead of leaving, I picked up another skirt to test. That was when my troubles began. I hadn’t even gotten it all the way up it when the zip got caught in my underwear. So now not only was I unable to check out the fit of the skirt, I was battling with a stuck zip and I couldn’t figure out how to get it off. Eventually I was able to take a good look at it in the mirror and I realised that I was going to need help with it. I either had to ask my mum or the shop assistant to cut me out of my underwear. There was only one problem: I was wearing (whisper it) a thong.

My first thought was, ‘there’s no way I’m going to have anyone messing about with my underwear’ so I re-doubled my efforts to free myself (to no avail I might add). By this time my mum, who was sitting outside the changing room, was getting quite impatient and I couldn’t shout out what was wrong. I had to swallow my pride and ask her to join me in the changing room. We finally managed to detach the skirt from the zip and my underwear. I was beyond the point of embarrassment and I was just grateful that I didn’t have to leave with no underwear. Fortunately, the shop assistant was very kind and she refused to charge me for the damaged skirt. Needless to say, I didn’t end up buying anything that morning.

I shall not even repeat what I said when I got home and removed the damn zip!

Leave a Reply

